gbfr

Our laboratory investigates the neural mechanisms underlying decision making, motivation and reward processing in humans, using concepts from cognitive neuroscience, psychology and behavioral economics. We use experimental tools such as model-based functional Magnetic Resonance Imaging, intracranial electrophysiological recordings and pharmacological manipulations to understand the computational processes involved when making a choice. Our goals are to understand the functional organization of the prefrontal cortex in humans, the various functions that the reward dopaminergic system exerts on cognition and motivation and the neural mechanisms underlying dysfunctions of these two systems in patients with neurological or psychiatric illnesses (Parkinson’s disease, patients with focal prefrontal cortex lesions, schizophrenia and pathological gambling). In parallel, we are also studying how individual variations in hormones and genes influence reward processing and decision-making.

Open positions

Applications are invited for a postdoctoral position to study neuroeconomics, decision making, motivation and reward processing using fMRI in healthy subjects and patients with neurological disorders.

Apply here >>

CNRS News

June 20th
Photosynthesis is a unique biological process that has permitted the colonization of land and sea by plants and phytoplankton respectively. While the mechanisms of photosynthesis in plants are well understood, scientists are only now beginning to elucidat…
June 15th
The meaning of a word is enough to trigger a reaction in our pupil: when we read or hear a word with a meaning associated with luminosity (“sun,” “shine,” etc.), our pupils contract as they would if they were actually exposed to greate…
May 24th
The existence of new “social” neurons has just been demonstrated by scientists from the Institut de neurosciences des systèmes (Aix-Marseille University / INSERM), the Laboratoire de psychologie sociale et cognitive (Université Cle…
- Copyright 2013 ISC-CNRS Created by Francesco De Fina

gbfr

Notre laboratoire étudie comment notre cerveau prend des décisions et comment différentes sources motivationnelles sont représentées au niveau cérébral. Pour répondre à ces questions fondamentales, notre approche utilise des concepts et méthodes issus des neurosciences cognitives, de la psychologie et de l’économie comportementale. Nos outils d’investigation sont principalement l’imagerie cérébrale (IRMf, TEP), les enregistrements intracraniaux et diverses manipulations pharmacologiques, qui permettent de préciser les processus computationnels impliqués dans nos choix motivés. Les buts principaux sont de comprendre l'organisation fonctionnelle du cortex préfrontal chez l'homme, les fonctions motivationnelles et émotionnelles du système de récompense et les mécanismes cérébraux sous−tendant les dysfonctionnements de ces deux systèmes chez des patients souffrant de troubles neurologiques ou psychiatriques (maladie de Parkinson, lésions focales du cortex préfrontal, jeu pathologique, schizophrénie). En parallèle, nous étudions l'influence de variations hormonales et génétiques sur le système de récompense et la prise de décision.

Offre d'emploi

Un poste de post-doctorant est actuellement ouvert en neuroéconomie, prise de décision et système de récompense utilisant l’IRMf chez des sujets sains et/ou des enregistrements intracraniens chez des patients épileptiques.

Lire ici >>

CNRS News

June 22nd
Daniel Riveline, directeur de recherche CNRS, fondateur et responsable du master de physique cellulaire de l'Université de Strasbourg, et Karsten Kruse, professeur à l'Université de Genève, co-signent une publication dém…
June 20th
La photosynthèse est un processus unique qui, dans le monde vivant, a permis la colonisation des terres et des océans, respectivement par les plantes et le phytoplancton. Si les mécanismes de la photosynthèse sont bien connus c…
June 15th
La finale nationale 2017 de « Ma thèse en 180 secondes », organisée par la CPU et le CNRS, s'est déroulée le 14 juin à Paris, dans le Studio 104 de la Maison de la Radio. 16 doctorants, issus des universit&ea…
- Copyright 2013 ISC-CNRS Created by Francesco De Fina